Wednesday, 2 October 2013

Wild Child - Molly O'Keefe

© Bianca
    




MOLLY O'KEEFE - WILD CHILD


• Romance
• 368 pages
• Bantam Books 
• release date: October 29, 2013



Blurb:


Perfect for readers of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Rachel Gibson, this sizzling romance tells the story of a sexy small-town mayor and a notorious “bad girl,” who discover that home really is where the heart is.

Monica Appleby is a woman with a reputation. Once she was America’s teenage “Wild Child,” with her own reality TV show. Now she’s a successful author coming home to Bishop, Arkansas, to pen the juicy follow-up to her tell-all autobiography. Problem is, the hottest man in town wants her gone. Mayor Jackson Davies is trying to convince a cookie giant to move its headquarters to his crumbling community, and Monica’s presence is just too . . . unwholesome for business. But the desire in his eyes sends a very different message: Stay, at least for a while.

Jackson needs this cookie deal to go through. His town is dying and this may be its last shot. Monica is a distraction proving too sweet, too inviting—and completely beyond his control. With every kiss he can taste her loneliness, her regrets, and her longing. Soon their uncontrollable attraction is causing all kinds of drama. But when two lost hearts take a surprise detour onto the bumpy road of unexpected love, it can only lead someplace wonderful.

“Molly O’Keefe is a unique, not-to-be-missed voice in romantic fiction.”—New York Times bestselling author Susan Andersen

About the book:


Bishop, Arkansas.
Mayor Jackson Davies wants to leave - he hates being Mayor and he hates small-town life. As soon as he can send his little sister off to College he's out of Bishop!
The only problem is - his town is dying. The town's only chance comes in the form of a TV Competition: a big cookie company wants to move their factory and headquarters to small-town America. It's his only hope - with the factory and its taxes and new jobs etc. the town could be saved.
The only thing standing in the way is Monica Appleby - Reality-TV-star turned Bestselling Author. She's back in Bishop to write a book about the 'murder' of her father. Which is not something the Mayor wants America to hear about when it's time for them to vote for their favorite small town.
And of course - as if that wasn't bad enough - sparks are flying like crazy between Monica and Jackson.
But both have been hurt and don't want a relationship - both are leaving town as soon as their work is done.
But that's not what will happen ☺

Another little story-line is about Shelby - art teacher and single woman. I guess we'll hear her story in the second book in the series ☺


BUT THAT'S IT.....

I'm not telling you more about the story - it would spoil your reading pleasure ☺
- you have to read it yourself!



OK, I might be persuaded to tell you a few tiny facts:

- there will lots of Kissing and Touching and SEX

- there might be a bathtub scene! H.O.T.!!!

- Jackson's sister Gwen has a big part in the book - maybe we'll hear her story in another book in the series.

- Cora from the diner - could also get her own book :) There are lots of stories in Bishop!

(and I would sooo love to go to Cora's and eat everything on the menu!!!)

- the real star in the book is Reba :) Monica's ugly little inherited dog!!



OK - That's it - you have to read it to find out if there will be a happy end or a cliffhanger or if everybody dies at the end ☺


BIANCA Says:

I REALLY ENJOYED THE BOOK!

It was a cute, sexy romance - no big surprises or suspense - just Romance - and that was totally ok :)
Jackson is a really cute and thoroughly GOOD guy - helping his sister - his town - everybody. And he's soooo good-looking too ☺
Monica, with her sad past just wants to belong somewhere - she wants someone to love her - even if she doesn't even admit that to herself.

A few things I didn't like
- The Cover of the book? I like the picture - but it doesn't fit with the book - the guy looks like he's a football Pro or a MMA fighter - but not a sexy small town Mayor ☺ For such a romantic story - it would've been better to put a cute small town on the cover - with a couple walking a dog - something cute!

- there's one weird perspective change after a few chapters - first I thought there's a killer on the loose and we now see the story through his eyes - but it was just Shelby's little story-line. But the way it just happened was not very 'flowing'.

- the writing disturbed my reading pleasure a tiny bit - Molly always lets people stutter nervously. I could understand it if it was ONE person - a very nervous and shy person - but she does it with everybody.
Lots of sentences begin with:
I'm not....I'm not doing bla bla
Can we....can we just start bla bla
How does....how does this work bla bla
it was way too much stuttering!


But - I really liked ALL characters and I am looking forward to the next book in the series!


JANEANE - MY THOUGHTS

Wild Child was an enjoyable read - nothing too over the top, nothing too outlandish, just a couple of slightly damaged people with a story to tell.  Though nothing like you might think just looking at the cover - it doesn't really fit the story.

Jackson is the small town, all round good guy, who would give the shirt off his back to help any one and everyone.  He (tries) to look after his teenage sister, tries to save the town, but at the expense of his own happiness.

Monica suffered tragedies in her childhood years, never had a regular life, is desperately lonely, and trying to find somewhere to belong - and someone to belong with.

The diva-dog Reba is a scene stealer - even if she is the ugliest dog on the planet!

 I did have to double check at one stage if I was reading the same book (I went back to the home page of my kindle to check, I really did!), because the story felt completely different.  I was certain that I started a different book.. However it was just changing to a different character's (Shelby) storyline.  The chapter where we had Shelby's story just felt out of place, even though later on we find out why we had it.

The rest of the characters -Sean, Brody, Gwen, Cora, Shelby - they could all have a story of their own in this series, there seems to be quite a lot behind all of them.  I would really like to read more of Gwen's and Shelby's stories.

I have to agree with Bianca - the "stuttering" at the beginning of sentences, of all the characters not just one, really began to annoy me by about half way through :-/

I live in a small town, and can totally get the dynamic amongst small town people. My town has the festival, the queen,the parade.  Can fully understand how the town depends on the tourists at the parades to keep things ticking along.

I am looking forward to reading more about the people of Bishop, Arkansas



Bishop, Arkansas - BOOK #2
no idea when it's out..  :(((




CLICK YOURSELVES TO AMAZON etc. AND B.U.Y. THE BOOK:





Click here to see the book's page on goodreads



                               
                                       ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
                                                                             (stolen from goodreads)
 Molly O'Keefe has always known she wanted to be a writer (except when she wanted to be a florist or a chef and the brief period of time when she considered being a cowgirl). And once she got her hands on some romances, she knew exactly what she wanted to write.

She published her first Harlequin romance at age 25 and hasn't looked back. She loves exploring every character's road towards happily ever after.

Originally from a small town outside of Chicago, she went to university in St. Louis where she met and fell in love with the editor of her school newspaper. They followed each other around the world for several years and finally got married and settled down in Toronto, Ontario. They welcomed their son into their family in 2006, and their daughter in 2008. When she's not at the park or cleaning up the toy room, Molly is working hard on her next novel, trying to exercise, stalking Tina Fey on the internet and dreaming of the day she can finish a cup of coffee without interruption

No comments:

Post a Comment