Tuesday, 7 January 2014

★ Wanted ★ J. Kenner ★ Review ★


©  Bianca  Janeane ✰ 



J. KENNER - WANTED
 • Most Wanted Series #1
• 352 pages
• Release Date: 7 January - 2014
• Book #2 Heated will be out 13 May  
• Book # Ignited will be out 2 September
(Books #2 + #3 will be about Evan's best buddies Cole & Tyler!)


4,51 of 5 Stars



For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey, Bared to You, and Release Me comes an all-new erotic series of three enigmatic and powerful men, and the striking women who can bring them to their knees.



He is everything I crave, all I desperately want—and he is everything I can’t have.

Evan Black embodies my every fantasy. He is brilliant, fierce, and devastatingly handsome. But he is also headstrong, dangerous, and burdened with secrets.

My family warned me to stay away, that I could never handle Evan’s dark dealings or scarred past. Maybe I should have listened. Maybe I should have run. But our desire is undeniable, and some temptations you just can’t fight.

And from the moment we touch—the passion between us consuming us both—I know that I will never be the same.


First Line:
I know exactly when my life shifted.



MY THOUGHTS - Bianca

Chicago.



Angelina Hayden Raine is the perfect little politician's daughter. She just finished her political science degree at Northwestern University and is now jobbing in her uncle Jahn's company. 

Ever since her older sister Grace was killed almost 8 years ago she wanted to be everything that Grace always was for her parents. The perfect daughter.

Angie, or Lina - as she was called back then - has always been a bit of a wild black sheep in this perfect family. She was always seeking thrills - she always wanted to experience everything life had to offer - she wanted to fly - to soar through life.



All that changed when Grace died. Lina became Angie - the good girl - who would one day work on Capitol Hill, just like her Dad. 
Only her passion is not politics! Not at all. She loves Art. That's why she spent the last 8 summers with her uncle in Chicago - and why she went to move there to go to college. 
Uncle Jahn is one of Chicago's most prominent Art Collectors.

Uncle Jahn always held those art camp seminars - that's where she met Evan 8 years ago.
Evan Black!



This rich, sexy & mysterious guy that she's been half in love with ever since. But he and his 2 buddies Cole and Tyler always treated her like a little sister.

Not anymore ....

Uncle Jahn dies suddenly... and that's where the book starts...
his wake in his huge penthouse apartment.
Angie finally sees Evan again - but she's with her almost boyfriend, FBI Agent Kevin.
She doesn't really want to deepen the relationship with Kevin because she only has eyes for Evan.

The moment their eyes meet Angie feels that something has changed in Evan - where he always played the big brother - she can now see heat and sparks and longing. Or is it only wishful thinking?

Angie decides that she wants to find out. She wants to spend one night with Evan. 
Easier said than done, because Evan has this unbelievably strong control over his emotions.....
will Angie wear him down?? ☺ hehe probably - but I'm not telling you the how's and when's ☺

Evan.
Evan has secrets on top of secrets.
The only facts Angie knows, she knows from newspapers. But everything is not really as it seems. And some things might even be worse.... Angie's FBI-Kevin seems very interested in Evan's business!!

But Evan and Angie - Evan and Lina - will try their best to figure things out.

Angie and Evan belong together - that's what the reader knows from the start and that's what they both feel and what they're too stubborn or blind or ignorant to see....

Evan is the only person in the world, next to her late uncle, who finally sees the real Lina - the girl who wants to fly - who has a reckless spirit - he sees all of her.....and he has for a long time...but circumstances prevented him to act on that attraction....
But now the chance has come.... ♥

There will be lots of romantic and erotic scenes in this book.



Lots of sad and moving parts.
Suspensy parts.
and there might be a strip club ☺☺☺




BUT THAT'S ALL I'M TELLING YOU ABOUT THE STORY ☺

I LOVED THE BOOK 
I was soooo looking forward to reading it - I read about Evan in Take Me - the Stark Trilogy Epilogue Novella - he was only in there for a few lines, but he stayed in my head.
And now here he is ☺

And he's perfect! Perfectly flawed too of course....but perfect!
Angie/Lina is really sweet too - I liked her a lot.

Cole and Tyler - the stars of the next 2 books are very likable too!!! Can't wait for their books.

Then we have Angie's best friends - Katrina and Flynn. 
Angie met Kat years ago when 'Lina' was about to steal something in a department store - just to experience a thrill again - to feel a bit like her old self...

And Flynn - he was her first 'lover' - they were each other's first times - just because they wanted to know what all the talk was about ☺ But they decided to stay friends.

Then we have Angie's parents - her soon-to-be Vice President (possibly) dad and her mom. They love her very much - probably a lot more than she thinks she deserves.

There's a lot happening in the book - but it kind of felt like a slow-moving nothingness.
Sounds totally weird - I don't really know what I mean either.
I loved the book and the people in it. 
It was just so slow - all the action and secret-revealing and sex was put into the last 15% of the book - it felt really rushed at the end :( 
I knew that the next 2 books would not be about Angie & Evan - but by the way the first 60% of the book move along, you get the impression and maybe the hope even, that their story won't be finished by the end of the book - that there will be a cliffhanger and that we'll get to hear lots more about them. But no :(  It's over. I guess we will see them again in Cole and Tyler's stories...

This slow-moving thing doesn't mean it was bad - it was just slow. If this would be a movie - the screenwriter would have to add some murders or other kind of suspense into the first half of the book - because otherwise the theater audience would fall asleep.
Jeez - that sounds horible!! NO - it's not bad - it's just slow at the beginning - but not bad slow at all - we learn a lot about Angie and her fears and hopes and secrets and also about Evan.... But I just wish the end wouldn't have been so rushed....

I loved the way J. Kenner took us through Chicago in the book ...

from  High Tea at THE DRAKE HOTEL




to the Bean Sculpture




I really felt like I was right there with Evan - ok and with Angie too ;)))


I loved the whole sightseeing part :)




A few things I didn't like about the writing ...
there was this one word: empirically..
It was in the book at least 3 times - I don't know why that bothered me so much, but it did.
If you need to use 'big' words - once is enough. ☺
The other thing - Angie was stuttering a lot - lots of sentences of hers begin something like that:
I..oh...
Oh. I... oh...
Oh.
Wait. Oh... I....oh
grrrrr.... I hate that. I don't have anything about a bit of stuttering - but why couldn't it be hmmms or But, but buts or uhms? Well - that's just something I hate ☺ It probably won't bother anybody else!

 WANTED was a really great erotic, romantic & mysterious book!
Readers who loved Damien Stark will love Evan Black as well ☺


Now I can't wait to read the next 2 books in the series....even though there won't be much of Evan in them :( But Cole and Tyler are really hot too ♥




MY THOUGHTS - Janeane

We first meet Evan Black in the Stark novella Take Me, where he was just an interesting side character.
Wanted is the first in the Most Wanted series, and is Evan's full story.
Evan has always wanted Angie/Lina since he first met her, but a promise to her uncle has kept him away.  
Angie/Lina (you'll get the dual names when you read) has loved no man but Evan.  She has blamed herself for her sister's death for years, and noone has ever really seen it except for her Uncle Jahn (who we never meet as the story starts at his wake) ~ and Evan.
Her parents (the next possible Vice President of the United States) love her very much, but she can't see past her guilt to see it.
For me, the story in Wanted seemed to really drag along.  Probably the first 60 or 70% of the story was all "I want you, you want me but I can't do this" and the "I am not good for you, I have a secret blah blah" before Evan and Angie/Lina really got to the crux of their relationship.
I get why there was the will they/won't they struggles with their relationship, but for a while there I wanted to bang their heads together and tell them to get on with it.  Or bang my head against the wall in frustration

Then the last say 20% seemed a bit rushed and everything seemed to wrap up in a nice little bundle very quickly.

I agree with Bianca's thoughts above, since Evan and Angie/Lina's story seemed to plod along for most of the book, it was like we were going to get more of their story in the rest of the series, but it isn't to be (though I am sure they will intertwine in the next 2 books well).

Wanted is a book about love, wanting, needing.  There is suspense, a bit of mystery, tears and laughter.  The sex is hot, their is light BDSM but it is not the main part of the story.

I enjoyed the visual tour of Chicago (though have never been since I am on the other side of the world).

I especially loved the interaction with Cole and Tyler.  They along with Evan have been the terrible trio, three musketeers for so long that they know each other's deepest darkest secrets so they can't pull the wool over their eyes.
I look forward to reading Cole and Tyler's stories in 2014 (i just hope that the beginnings of their stories don't drag as much as this one did :-/ )


amazonkindle amazonB&NNook B&N


Stalk J. Kenner on:

facebookgoodreadshomepage



J. KENNER:


J. Kenner is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Release Me, Claim Me, and Complete Me. She spent more than ten years as a litigator in Southern California and central Texas, using her rare free time to indulge in her passion of writing. She lives in Texas with her husband and daughters.



 

No comments:

Post a Comment